solstice eve

In this torn desert world there is no love because pleasure and desire play the greatest roles, yet without love your daily life has no meaning.

how do I continue in a life with no meaning?

And you cannot have love if there is no beauty.

beauty covers this world, does it not?

Beauty is not something you see—not a beautiful tree, a beautiful picture, a beautiful building, or a beautiful woman. There is beauty only when your heart and mind know what love is.

what is love

Without love and that sense of beauty there is no virtue, and you know very well that, do what you will, improve society, feed the poor, you will only be creating more mischief, for without love there is only ugliness and poverty in your heart and mind. But when there is love and beauty, whatever you do is right, whatever you do is in order.

this life, this world, seems out-of-order

If you know how to love, then you can do what you like because it will solve all other problems. – Krishnamurti, Freedom from the Known, p 86

Krishnamurti’s quote arrived in my inbox a couple of days ago. It made me sad for I have known for a long time that love has alluded me. This is a rather pathetic statement, yet it is an honest one. Krishanmurti would say it is a statement that misunderstands what love is. I do not counter.

Today, I found the longer piece of this quote and read it. So many bits of wisdom found in just four pages of rumination. I will simplify my conclusion:

To love, as K. writes, is to find Your child again.

At the end of the page, I wrote this as I my mind wondered, wandered…

Where did you go, my dear, upon the willows that bowed to feet still unbound?
Gone are smiles that grace an open voice that knows nothing of proper laughter.
Did those many branches entangle your spirit until the winter wind froze
all the pieces into fabric only used by common man, but, what is common -
what is man – when a talisman coin finds it way into an empty palm
lined with a thousand years of other lives,
yet this one remains uncertain in today’s noise.
Did you fly into that doves gaze when he pushed you high,
trying to catch the sky with toes, you think – stretch – just a bit more…
for there is no knowledge that it cannot be done.
Come undone – unwrap these frozen binds so we can
become friends again and our blood will circle,
letting nature pool until roots are neither for soil or kin.
When that last glimpse of the Sun rises before it sinks again,
grab it in your eye and hold it – then let it go
until your mind sees it inside. Look for me,
on that side, a star – a light of you,
gone golden. 

Then inwardly you are completely silent. Do you understand what that means? It means that you are not seeking, not wanting, not pursuing: there is no center at all.
Then there is love. ~ Krishnamurti, “Freedom From the Known”

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. yes, love is in so many forms. But I most cling to the idea of finding our “Inner” child. I look for her every day, and she’s not far away. And I agree, once I find her, I feel complete. I wish the same for you! By the way, there is great beauty in your writing…

    Reply
    • you are a wise one, Pam…wonderful that you realize it is the beauty of the inner child that you need – I am slowly learning to finder her. Thank you for your kindness, after working all day, this was a lovely reply to read ~ a

      Reply
  2. Brendan

     /  2013/12/24

    My younger brother was the Lost Child of our broken family, a wanderer who died alone in Oregon at age 46. He was my twin in every sense but birthday. In a journal I retrieved from his apartment he wrote, “Beauty heals.” Even if it kills us. Same as love. It’s why we write, I think. Growing those deeper roots. So beauty heals, even if it’s only a poem. that may suffice. Best, B

    Reply
  3. With poignant verse you have depicted the essence of the condition along with its accompanying questions as well as illuminating a path to the answer. I believe God gives us beauty to catch our attention only to then reveal something far more significant within (perhaps similar to the conversion between sensual and sensuous perception).

    Reply

what's brewing ~

  • leave an email, receive an email ~

  • Do you copy?

    Words are my own unless otherwise noted. Creativity is something to be shared, but that decision should always be left to the creator.
  • fly with me

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 447 other followers

