iRotten?

Image representing Apple as depicted in CrunchBase

Image via CrunchBase

I try to speak with my dollar.

When I decided to get a dog, I researched to make sure I would not be supporting a puppy mill. I try not to be a consumer. I research. I’ve boycott companies for unethical, or poor environmental, practices.

I’m typing this on a Mac. I love my iPhone. I was just toying with buying an iPad instead of taking a yoga training weekend once I get a bit of money back from Washington. Then I read NYT’s iEconomy, a series reporting on Apple’s assembly plants in China.

After reading the Human Costs NYTimes article, I began to question Apple’s ethics. The iEconomy series had another link that was dated with tomorrow’s date, a blog posts with response from Chinese readers. The respondents seem to echo much of the same sentiment: it is the government’s lack of regulation; it is the industry, not just Apple; the plant, Foxconn, is actually better than other plants; and, Apple will remain Apple because of consumer love.

Apple is big enough to demand change. It was just reported today that they had the best quarter ever. Doesn’t a company that is of such success have a moral obligation to, “be the change”? Is Apple really rotten; or is it wearing a bullseye because it has become an economic giant?

I’ll be honest, I want them to do the right thing. I love my Apples, but don’t wish to support a company that chooses profits over people. Sigh. Last call…well, for the rescue pup, z, before bed; hopefully, not for my iPhone ~

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Apple will take a real hit and decline from China produced goods. Chinese factories and manufacturers seem to have no sense of quality control. They do not meet specs in quality or in the composition of materials used. It is cut corners, cheap, short lasting crap to enhance immediate maximum profit. The Christmas before last the city of Miami gave away 500 bicycles to needy families. My friend and I tried to assemble a few. The bolts were of such cheap metal that the heads twisted off when tightening the bolt. Nuts supplied did not match size or thread of bolts. Some nuts and bolts were obviously not made for the bike. The parts like handle bar brakes were of such poor quality plastic they also disintegrated and split. The fenders were warped. Just buy a screw driver at the dollar store for instance. Made in China of course. The standard or the philips are worn and useless after just 15 minutes of use.

    Reply
    • How frustrating, Carl. Props to you guys for doing such a great thing! Clothing, too, is all ‘made in china’. If all of that production were moved back here, I dare say we wouldn’t have an employment problem. ‘course peeps would have to suck it up and perhaps get off their high horse regarding job and standards of what job a person will take…. (we’ve got a lot of that despite unemployment highs)

      Reply
  2. Sadly, due to my own research of products, I find that most things these days are made in Asia. The conditions for the workers are spurious to say the least. A lot of companies move manufacture of goods to Asia because it will increase profit margins. There is an abundant workforce there who will work machinery for 12-14 hours a day.

    Until the manufacturers decide otherwise, and the western world continues to close its eyes, the problem will not go away.

    Reply
  3. I had a guy once ask me…
    Stop…Take a perusing look at all the objects on your desk.
    Pick it up, and read whats on the bottom.
    How many of those objects say..Made in China?
    It’s Freaky Angela.
    (Just make sure that your coffee cups not full of coffee)

    Reply
    • Awe..wonder if you saw my snark and thought it my 55. I’m hoping to play, G, but not feeling very clever!
      Thanks for weighing in…my only saving grace? I collect unique coffee mugs, ergo, most are artist made, no China ~

      Reply
  4. Raven of Leyla

     /  2012/01/26

    It is rather sad that we have so many of our large manufacturers over in China. American Ingenuity? They allow our ethics to slip past us. All this for the sake of money, but how and at what expense?
    It is freaky!

    Reply
    • Sad indeed, Raven. Did just hear a great thing about Keen brand. I need a new pair, ergo, I shall buy them without qualm ~

      Reply
  5. Good luck finding products made in the USA. They are fewer and farther between these days.

    The less I buy . . . the happier I am.

    Reply
    • I agree, Nancy. My one downfall is being a gadget lover…though I waited 6 years to replace my laptop!
      I’m a minimalist and cheap ~

      Reply

what's brewing ~

  • leave an email, receive an email ~

  • Do you copy?

    Words are my own unless otherwise noted. Creativity is something to be shared, but that decision should always be left to the creator.
  • fly with me

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 449 other followers

